Holy Father Pope Francis has erected the Syro- Malabar Eparchies of Shamshabad and Hosur and has appointed as its first Bishops respectively, His Lordship Rt. Rev. Raphael Thattil, till now Auxiliary Bishop of Trichur and Rev. Fr. Sebastian Pozholiparampil, of the clergy of Irinjalakuda. His Holiness Pope Francis has also extended the boundaries of the Eparchies of Ramanathapuram and Thuckalay.

His Lordship Rt. Rev. Raphael Thattil was ordained a priest on 21st December, 1980 and was consecrated a Titular Bishop of Buruni and Auxiliary Bishop of Trichur on 10th April, 2010. He was appointed Apostolic Visitator of the Syro-Malabars residing in India, outside the territorium proprium on 11th January, 2014. Rev.Fr. Sebastian Pozholiparampil was ordained a priest on 22nd December, 1982 and has served the Eparchy as Assistant parish priest at Aloor and was Rector of the Spirituality Centre, Eparchial Financial Officer, Vice Rector of the Minor Seminary, Director of Santisadanam, Director of Legion of Mary and Secretary of the Presbyteral Council and presently, Syncellus of the Eparchy of Irinjalakuda and Rector of St. Paul’s Minor Seminary and Vocation promoter and was formerly the coordinator of Chennai Mission.

These provisions were made public in Rome on 10th October, 2017. Catholic Bishops’ Conference of India has assured prayers and wholehearted collaboration to the newly appointed Bishops and to the Syro-Malabar Church.